top of page

April Donor of the Month- Richard Faulk '59

I was sitting at my desk opening mail when I came across a large white envelope. Inside was a note, a check, and the picture you see on the left. Dick let me know that he was providing me with FREE advertising. I laughed. I have been receiving notes of inspiration and good cheer for four years from the entire Faulk family. I realized it was time to feature this true patriot. First, Dick served our country in the Navy. Secondly, he dedicated his entire career to diplomatic service in the United States federal government, under the aegis of the United States Department of State. Lastly, Dick continue to serve others and is dedicated to Villanova and giving back through the Blue White Scholarship Foundation. He has always given at the Ambassador Level.

Here is Dick’s story:” My families’ relationship with Villanova goes back to the turn of the twentieth century when my grandfather Richard Warren Faulk took a position as estate manager and show horse trainer with the Clothier estate. The estate was situated about a mile the campus and ran along county line road. My grandfather married an Irish immigrant, Nora Cannon, and they raised four sons in their home on the estate. Two sons, William (Villanova class of ‘30) and Charles, my father (class of ‘33), graduated from the college. A third Jim attended Villanova but transferred to Alabama where he graduated in 1933. There are many stories involving my grandfather and his sons connected to Villanova, but I will not bore you with them. During WWII I spent most of the time with my grandfather on the estate. Everyone was overseas and he and I bonded. When it came time to look at colleges, Villanova was first on my list. It was a no brainier for me.

At Villanova, I quickly found out I was not good enough to play football, but loving the sport I became one of the team’s managers. Things happened and as a sophomore I was designated the senior manager and began a three year learning experience. We traveled all over the US and as the manager I had lots of responsibilities which later proved invaluable. One story connects me to the foundation. In my senior year, the freshman Coach Eddie Michael came to me with a kid and said “suit him up he is a player”. That kid was Bob Capone. A long term friendship began.

After graduation, I served in the US Navy from 1959-1961 and then went to work in New York to work from 1961-1966 as a Finance Analyst. I always wanted to use my education more directly so I applied to the Foreign Service, United States Department and was accepted in 1966, the same year I married my lovely wife and life partner Carole Cuccinelli. We had a terrific 30+ overseas career, serving in many countries including Mexico, Iran, Turkey, and the United Arab Emirates. In 1974, I was part of a small team that opened our embassy in Abu Dhabi, the capital of the United Arab Emirates, which sits off the mainland on an island in the Persian (Arabian) Gulf. In the 1980’s I was fortunate to work at the Hague, Zuid- Holland in the Netherlands, and the American Embassy, Bonn, Federal Republic of Germany. In the early 1990’s I served as American Consul General, Karachi, Pakistan. My two daughters were born overseas Suzanne in Mexico and Treacy (Villanova 91) in Iran.

In Washington, I worked in personnel, the Near East bureau, and as special assistant to the Assistant Secretary of State. I was director of operations, Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Operations, and Assistant Secretary for Administration.

My last assignment was as the Secretary’s senior liaison to the CIA. In that time I was lucky enough to receive a number of awards, but the one I am most proud of is the recognition by the University’s College of Arts and Science. In all that time I never forgot Villanova, and when in the US attended as many football games as possible. I was active in the Washington DC alumni club. When Bob Capone approached my father and I about the original Blue White club we were quick to join and donate. We have been since the beginning, both individually and through our family trust. I always pass on copies of the letters I receive from students who have benefited from the Foundation to my children and grandchildren. I can think of no better way to help financially strapped students get their diplomas from Villanova.” Like many of you, Dick has a very large extended family who needs their own financial help, yet this family generation after generation gives back.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
bottom of page