top of page

A Thank You Letter from Rita Marino


My name is Rita Marino and I am a senior at Villanova University. I am writing this letter to extend my gratitude for your kindness and generosity.

First, I would like to tell you a bit about myself so you can better understand the impact that your donation has had in my life. My parents moved from West Philly to the small beach town of Wildwood about 30 years ago. As the youngest of seven children, I grew up with sand in between my toes and a beach cruiser bike that took me anywhere on the 3 mile stretch of land.

I wore my sisters’ hand-me-downs, played with my sisters’ barbies, and never had the latest technological gadgets. I include these details because it has greatly shaped the person I am today. The true richness in life lies in experiences with those and activities you love, not material things. I treasure the moments: eating dinner on the deck with my family, going to see my favorite musician play in Philly, and enjoying a new book at the library.

Speaking of books, I will be reading many of them this coming semester. At Villanova I am an English major. Ever since I was young, writing naturally came to me. I enjoyed the puzzle of piecing words together into eloquent sentences. Although I tried to fight it and pursue more practical avenues, I always knew where my strong suit lied.

Last Fall fall I had an internship at Vizion Group, a PR firm, and in last Spring I had an internship with Catholic Relief Services. During the summer I worked for QVC. In the future I see myself doing some kind of writing—maybe PR, freelance business writing, journalism, copywriting, or on the other side of the spectrum, working in an operations role.

In the end, I wish to find a career that allows my creativity to shine through, the chance to exhibit my organizational skills, and aligns with my gentle soul that enjoys lovingly teasing people.

Let me end this letter by expressing my genuine gratitude. Your generosity has lifted a financial burden off my shoulders. I hope to repay the favor one day.

Best,

Rita Marino

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
bottom of page