top of page

August 2017: Student Spotlight featuring Rita Marino

Have you ever perused the internet for new clothes or home goods? Ladies-Admit it, I know you have. On most retail sites, just above the product makeup (i.e. dimensions or material) is a two to three sentence snippet that entices customers to buy the product and help imagine how it would fit in their lives. My job is to write that product description blurb and organize the bullets in an easy to understand order. The first product description I wrote during my summer internship was about woman’s pants. I needed to make pull up, rayon pants sound like the hottest fashion trend in America, the type of garment that all women, young, and dare I say it, mature ladies would just die to have in their closet. The latest and greatest fashion trend. But how? Here is what I wrote as a description for the host of the evening show:

When standing to take my picture, Property Brother Jonathan proclaimed that he had a better idea and swooped me up.

DESCRIPTION: Evoke closet envy with these printed, slim leg Susan Graver pants. (Ok I dropped the designer name and even used the word openly “envy.” Next, I started to create a picture: A subtle elastic waistband allows for ultimate comfort, while sophisticated side slits complement chic wedges or your fav. summer sandals.

• Fabrication: Uptown Stretch; • Features: pull-on style, full flat elastic waistband, allover print, two front pockets, side slit on outside of leg • Rise, slightly below the waist • Fit: fitted: cut to follow the lines of body • Leg Shape: slim leg; fits close to the body through the entire leg • Inseam: missy/plus inseam 28” • Content: 77%rayon/20% nylon/3%spandex • Care: machine wash, line dry

My journey at QVC started the spring semester of my junior year in the corporate communication department. For four months I learned the intricacies of dealing with crisis management, media coverage, and overall brand image. I tracked media, wrote articles, and crafted award nominations. Although I loved corporate communication, at the young age of 21, I was itching to learn more and further grow as a writer. As my internship contract ended, I submitted my resume to the copywriting department and was offered a summer position.

Copywriting, not to be confused with the legalities of copyrighting, is writing the words, product descriptions, or phrases, aka copy, on the website or printed content. Basically, many of the words that most of us imagine as faceless or naturally coming into existence, are actually dreamed up by the copy team. I am lucky to be a copywriter. Each day I am challenged to think creatively, write concisely, and catch peoples’ attention, all while doing the thing I love most—writing! With an eloquent stringing of words, a copywriter can bring something as simple as a bracelet or tank top to life.

QVC fans always pepper me with questions regarding my proximity to celebrities. Thus far, I have seen two live shows, one with the HGTV Property Brothers and the other with David Venable, meeting both, along with host Jennifer Coffey and celebrity makeup artist Mally. Since filming is live out of the West Chester studio, I have spotted Shark Tank’s Kevin O’Leary eating in the cafeteria and went on a backstage tour. Despite the glamour of the lights and cameras, my favorite perk of the job is the sample sale where employees can buy QVC merchandise, like designer makeup, at extremely discounted rates.

Come August, my time at QVC will end and I will return to Villanova to complete my senior year. Upon graduation, I wish to continue business writing, in copywriting, corporate communication, or PR. I am so grateful not only to QVC for giving me the chance to develop my writing capabilities, but also to Blue White for helping support my college education. As the last of seven children, I never had the luxury of a college fund and even while working two jobs, always experienced a financial gap. Thank you. God bless you for your generosity.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
bottom of page