top of page

Summer 2016: Student Spotlight featuring Francesca Cocchi - Why Study Abroad?

Although studying abroad may have once seemed like an extravagant, exclusive experience, it is now a fairly standard part of a well-rounded education at a school like Villanova, Students who participate in study abroad programs are usually able to forgo tuition at Villanova for the semester and replace it with their program’s expenses. Additionally, scholarships and financial aid are available for many programs; some students spend a semester abroad at no cost.

This summer, I spent three weeks at Dublin’s Abbey Theatre – the national theatre of Ireland. I was one of only 5 Villanova undergraduate students in the program and a member of the literary and creative strand. I and a group of English graduate students wrote and workshopped original plays under the guidance of Abbey literary reader and playwright Jesse Weaver, while other students worked with intensive performance professionals, voice and movement coaches, directors and stage managers. Our work was part of a collaborative showcase performed and directed by Villanova theatre students and students from University College Dublin. My play, “Red Bank,” was one of six original plays in the showcase, which was infused with readings from influential Irish plays, original monologues adapted from famous characters, vocal performances, and tableaus.

Completing this program means not only that I have written a play that was performed at a national theatre, but also that I have studied with and under people from different walks of life, disciplines, and cultures. As someone who hopes to someday publish books and write her own pieces for newspapers or magazines, I am certain that learning how writing works beyond the east coast of the United States has elevated my degree. When I returned home, I told my family that I didn’t think I would ever been in such a creative environment with such diverse perspectives again in my life. I was heavily involved in a production that started with character sketches in a notebook and ended with props, professional lighting, applause, and a reception celebrating something brand new.

College is not just about earning enough credits for a diploma; it’s a chance to expand your worldview, leave your comfort zone, and learn what professionals in your field are doing all over the globe. The credits I earned abroad are probably the ones that will make me the most memorable candidate for graduate school or my first job.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
bottom of page